Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the population of metro cities. This has led to the development of a housing crisis as land is not available for the construction of new apartments. One proposed solution was to re-allocate the land assigned to parks to resolve this issue. This essay disagrees with this statement and explains why parks are beneficial for maintaining a healthy community and environment. One of the primary advantages of parks in main cities is that they provide an area for the people of the community to socialise. The existence of parks helps people meet their friends and spend quality time with them, which can be a delightful activity. For instance, individuals can visit the park with their friends daily in the morning to participate in yoga sessions organised by many parks in the locality. Additionally, it brings humans closer to nature. This is because many cities are majorly covered by buildings and there are very few trees and gardens. However, with the absence of parks, these cities would transform into concrete jungles and it would become very difficult for people to connect with the environment. Another benefit of having parks in cities is related to the environmental impact. The removal of parks would be detrimental to the biosphere. This is because parks contain trees which contribute to maintaining the stability of the ecosystem. For example, the conversion of harmful greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide to an essential gas such as oxygen. Furthermore, this can have a positive effect on the air quality index and the reduction of global warming. For this reason, it is clearly evident that parks are crucial in stabilising environmental health. In conclusion, although a large number of cities are encountering a housing crisis and the land occupied by parks could be used to solve this issue, I think that parks are important for the city. They play a key role in enhancing connections within the community and the environment.