Students nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, teenagers are becoming lazier and do less exercise than in many decades ago. Therefore, there is a need to add more mandatory sports lessons in schools for students. In this essay, I will present reasons for not being persuaded by this statement. On the one hand, adding and turning physical classes to be more compulsory could lead to counterproductive. When teenagers play sports with the psychology of being forced to belong, they lose their enthusiasm and dynamism with sports. Instead, teenagers should be allowed to choose whether to play sports or not. In addition, physical classes might waste valuable lessons. For instance, most publics are always busy with their homework and projects. Especially, with senior students who have to face important entrance exams. Therefore, educational institutions should provide more useful classes or programs involving subjects like Math, English, physics, or Chemistry. On the other hand, athletic pastimes have some benefits. Admittedly, physical activities improve the public's mental well-being. After stressful class hours, children can have a rest time or relaxation by playing outdoor activities. This not only helps develop physical health but also mental health. Moreover, playing sports can be a great chance to help discipline and work with others as a team. Take basketball or soccer, for example, team members have to coordinate smoothly in dribbling and passing the ball. Besides, they also learn to believe in their teammates and respect them. In conclusion, I'm afraid I have to disagree with the opinion that forcing the public to participate in sports lessons. Rather, it is to let children decide for themselves what they will do.