Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The efforts of governments and big firms to preserve the environment can be more profitable compared to the individuals’ efforts which often have minimal impact. I vehemently espouse this statement because big companies and local authorities have numerous methods with substantial funds to execute initiatives and policies and these can enormously assist to get quick positive outcomes. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why individual efforts are few in comparison with the big companies and governments. Foremost, governments have a well-planned structure with obligations to preserve the environment which they require to follow. For example, in the event of World Summit 1992, not only did nations sign a cut-off of 5-10% per cent carbon emissions but also the World Bank issued funds to achieve these targets and surprisingly about 55 nations reached the level of 7 per cent. Because of appropriate policies and their implementations with high taxes and fines, such countries made their citizens follow all the instructions. Such positive outcomes were never possible at individual levels because it requires it to be done at a higher level which is possible only through authority. Additionally, by considering the role of big corporations, they can make policies for environment protection which are essential to be followed by all the branches and employees. For instance, Amazon, an American company, issued instructions for all its worldwide branches to stop using plastic packing in March 2017 and as per the annual report for the next year, plastic packing was completely thrown off by the company. Moreover, these companies can provide incentives for planting trees which can be a breakthrough for the preservation of the atmosphere. Therefore, these steps can never automatically be adopted by individuals due to a shortage of funds. To conclude, I completely agree that people’s efforts are not considerable in front of the efforts of big organisations and authorities since both these institutions have enormous techniques with financial resources to create a major change in the protection of the environment.