An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors, and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

There is a current phenomenon that a growing number of professionals, like doctors and teachers, are reported to be moving out of their own developing countries so that they can work in more advanced states. This occurrence can cause problems with the fulfilment of citizens’ basic necessities and the continuation of certain professional sectors in the country. However, by improving professionals ’ wages, employment benefits, and development systems, these issues can be mitigated by the governments. First of all, insufficiency in the number of professionals is risking people’s right to get their fundamental needs covered in a country. This is because, professionals are related to high-risk sectors that are safeguarding basic human necessities and ones that require strong manpower resources. The absence of adequate manpower will cause a lot of people to be neglected. For instance, 70% of schools in India are reported to experience a shortfall of teachers and educators, causing 40% of children cannot receive education. In addition, the shortfall in the number of professionals can prohibit the continuation of that related sector in a country. This is to say, that if the existing professionals have the tendency to leave, the younger generations may not be able to receive any knowledge transfers in the future or may lack the motivation to pursue the same profession. To better illustrate this, recently in Indonesia, all radiology study programmes have been closed due to the nonexistence of radiology doctors, who have moved out to work in other countries, such as Singapore and the United States. Nonetheless, the challenges above can be tackled by increasing salaries, improving job benefit packages, and offering development programs, such as scholarships for continuing education for professionals to keep them from looking for better work opportunities outside of their home country. In conclusion, there are risks to citizens’ basic needs and related sectors if professionals have the tendency to leave their own country, by enhancing employment packages, more professionals will consider staying.