Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is it the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Phone use time among children is higher. There are various reasons behind this increase but advancements in mobile devices and the Internet are usually attributed as the primary cause. Although there are also benefits, the harmful effects of this development on children can outweigh the good ones. In this digital age, mobile phones are developed to be increasingly affordable and accessible. As a result, phone use is universal and many children are given smartphones as their personal belongings that can be accessible almost 24/7. Internet is another factor that contributes to increased screen time. A smartphone with a stable Internet connection is a great source of entertainment for children where they can access millions of mobile applications online. Moreover, mobile app developers are putting every effort into making their products fascinating or even addictive to users. Children ’s exposure to technology can benefit to a limited extent yet the drawbacks arguably have a greater impact. Even though children can use phones for educational purposes such as taking online courses or learning foreign languages, it is relatively noticeable that more hours spent on the screen means less time for physical and outdoor activities. This can gradually lead to higher risks of obesity and lower health quality. In addition, children with compulsive phone use can be distracted from other responsibilities such as study or social connections, which are essential aspects of a child’s well-being. In conclusion, the development of mobile phones is driving children to spend more time on smartphones. The negative effects of this phenomenon are varied and they need to be put under serious consideration, particularly by parents of young offspring.