Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that highly skilled workers should work in the nation they completed their education, while others believe that they have to be allowed to work in any parts of the world to their liking. Although it is fair for governments to make professionals work in their countries, I believe that they should be given the right to work elsewhere, because they can improve their standards of life. On the one hand, governments expend huge sums of money educating people to become skilled workers, like doctors and engineers. Therefore, governments can demand that they serve the country as a way of paying their debts. For example, every local medical student in Sri Lanka gets about $100000 to complete their studies, and recently the Sri Lankan government imposed a law that mandates them to stay and work there for a few years. However, it is cruel to practice such a law because it eliminates the freedom of these workers with high skills. On the other hand, professionals can attain better lives if they move out of their country of practice. That is to say that they can earn more and enjoy what developed countries have to offer. Since many developing countries do not pay enough, they can migrate to places that honour their education by paying them the amount that will allow them to have comfortable and luxurious lives. For instance, the basic salary for doctors in Sri Lanka is about 200 dollars a month, whereas in the USA, it is over $3000. Hence, many doctors travel with work visas to the USA to pursue their careers. In conclusion, it is true that governments have the right to make it mandatory for doctors and engineers to work in their homeland because their practice is funded by the country itself; however, it is more important to allow them to choose nations that pay them more money.