Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages.If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

There is a trend these days of paying more attention to understanding English than the native languages which has led many to believe that local linguistics may become obsolete. Although learning international vocabulary is important for higher studies, most people can do without it.Efforts should be made to preserve the indigenous medium of conversation in a community by making it a compulsory subject and promoting it through national media. On the one hand, there are many folks who want to be fluent in foreign vocabulary due to the fact that many higher-education books are written in those languages. For instance, the whole curriculum of medical colleges and engineering universities of Pakistan is in English and those students who are not good at understanding it, face problems while reproducing it in the exam. On the other hand, not all students go on to obtain higher degrees. They do not necessarily need to adopt english speaking as the main mode of communication.Take the example of daily wagers and businessmen who have to interact mostly with the native community members for their routine matters. To prevent our language from becoming extinct, we should make all our efforts to propagate it widely.To achieve this end, the native spoken should be made an essential part of the syllabus.When pupils know they will be asked about it in the exam, then they will be more attentive to it in school. For instance, Urdu, which is our national tongue, is mandatory for all students till secondary school. In addition, translation of foreign literature can help a great deal in promoting our own mother tongue. Moreover, the news and entertainment channels in the commonly spoken language can also be useful to protect it from dying out.In Russia, all the medical literature is in Russian and so are the talk shows propagating their mother tongue. In conclusion, although English is required by some people for jobs and studies I propose that the national writing format should be given priority by governments and it should be included in the syllabus and given more media coverage to ensure its survival.