It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

From a global perspective, it is surely challenging for any government to assist every individual worldwide directly because of the ever-extending scale of need and limited resources. However, relieving them of all international assistance potentially makes global crises much worse. Thus, I believe striking a balance between domestic priorities and international obligations might come in way more handy. Although providing humanitarian aid for every single person in need can be resource-intensive, with the help of modern means of transport and communication the delivery of international assistance now seems more feasible. One of the notable examples is the devastating earthquake in Nepal in 2015 which caused significant loss and destruction. Within hours of the earthquake, several countries swiftly sent aid workers and assisted in search and rescue operations, providing medicines, meals, blankets, and tents. The media played out the devastating effects of the earthquake alongside the generosity of international donors which further contributed to more humanitarian organizations’ relief efforts. All of which can be attributed to the feasibility of global assistance. Global issues, on the other hand, can transcend national borders which makes the idea that governments are only responsible to their citizens infeasible. Climate change, pandemics, and terrorism affect everyone, regardless of borders, and thus necessitate cross-border collaboration. Collaborating across borders allows the pooling of resources, expertise, and efforts to address these challenges effectively. For example, tackling health crises like COVID-19 required global collaboration in research, vaccine development, and coordinated responses all of which are essential for public health. In conclusion, even though addressing local needs is crucial, ignoring global issues would be shortsighted. So to create a more sustainable world with fewer transnational issues governments should take on responsibility for both local requirements and global challenges and adjust accordingly.