It is more important to use space in cities well than make them look beautiful. To what extent do you agree?

When cities are growing and the worldwide population is increasing, it is generally believed that city space management is increasingly significant in order to prepare for the future need for housing. Predictions suggest that there will be progressively more demand for space, pushing many to believe space is a main factor in city planning. However, as far as I am concerned, while space is an important thing to consider, there are other factors at play with similar if not more impact. First, a leading cause of concern is the problem of increasing population density. Experts believe that population density in cities will only increase in the future as more young adults are interested in the facilities and work environment as opposed to its countryside counterpart. As population growth requires more housing, space is widely believed to be in grave need in the future. Moreover, this is further supported by the fact that taller apartments are built every single day, which focuses on giving a lot of housing for less ground area. These designs are not only an effective way to use space, but also give big cities like Dubai its own charm. However, it is important to consider that increasing the amount of housing is a temporary solution to the increase in population density. It seems to me that the overemphasis on space only further encourages young people to move to cities, leaving other alternatives such as the countryside to be underdeveloped. On the other hand, planning focused on aesthetics or the beauty of the city allows for an increase in overall quality of life, where people living in cities generally live happier. This also opens the door to other sources of income such as tourism. Although population growth is a major problem to consider, personally there are other factors as important. The lack of resources and green space in a city planned to utilize space to the maximum extent is one. A beautiful space featuring plants and grass is more environmentally friendly and sustainable as compared to one without. This gives the city a chance to help combat other global issues, for instance, climate change. With all the reasons mentioned above, in my opinion, it is clear that while space is a crucial factor to consider in planning a city, it is not the most significant as there are other factors one should consider. Most of which can be fulfilled if beauty were to be deemed as more important.