Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

In our contemporary era, it is acknowledged by some people that the younger generation does not understand practical work and schools should arrange field works accompanied by academic studies. In my opinion, institutions at any level of student development should implement hands-on activities to adapt them to the future reality, foster their hard and soft skills in harmony, and give them the freedom of choice to start their careers earlier. With the rapid advancement of technology, more and more educators and scientists come up with modern teaching methods and instruments like cognitive education, project-based methods or active learning. Moreover, their inventions give opportunities for educational bodies all over the world to improve students’ results and focus more on their career development. For example, in Kazan, ISL boarding school implemented a project-based system incorporating real-life applications. As a result, their pupils enhanced their academic foundations and significantly improved their communication and critical thinking skills throughout this program. Furthermore, cutting-edge technologies give the opportunity to learn more professional skills at the click of a button and apply them on a daily basis. Institutions can be transformed with the help of educational platforms like Coursera and Udemy which are open to the youth with reasonable prices and flexible deadlines. For instance, one public school in Moscow, in 2016, bought yearly subscriptions for middle and high school students, encouraging them to accomplish at least one desired course. This improvement was a life-changing moment for three Year 11 students whose team application won in a start-up competition and they were invited to work as Junior Developers after school. In conclusion, in our modern world educational institutions should be more open-minded and flexible to implement alternative teaching methods and integrate into their curriculum more practice rather than theory. In my opinion, schools should take advantage of technology as well, teaching youngsters how to use it effectively and learn quickly new life-long skills.