Some people find it difficult to manage their money. How could the government help prevent debt problems and support such people.

In some cases, the cause of poverty is not the lack of money-making opportunities, but rather the lack of money management skills that cause people to either use them all or lose them just as quickly, opening the doors to debt problems and other financial issues. It is the government ’s duty to ensure the well-being of its citizens and support them. Therefore, it is important to consider how the government can help with this problem. Firstly, educational seminars may provide insight as to the main causes and the behaviors leading to the problem. This increases overall understanding of the topic, and tells people the consequences of their possible actions. While it may be expensive to manage and done in an effective manner, it is worth the investment as it helps the citizens’ common ongoing problem. In addition, the government can start cooperating with banks and other corporations where massive debts are reported and credit scores are shared. With this, people with a lot of debt can be closely monitored, and those who already have a lot of debt can be denied more. A drawback to this is how it may come in the way of those in dire need of money, but closely monitoring them can allow the government to help them in various ways. Lastly, the most extreme solution could be punishments like limiting their card and not allowing further debt for those who have been in them for a long time. A clear punishment has the possibility to completely eradicate the problem as its source. However, this may be overstepping the government's jurisdiction as those actions are not something they have the power to do. In conclusion, the government can help prevent its citizens’ debt problems by starting educational campaigns, cooperating with banks to monitor those with a lot of debt, and issuing punishment for those with a lot of debt.