The key to solving environmental problems is simple: the present generation is to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that environmental problems are concerned by the public, and some people argue that the present generation should sacrifice the comfortable life for the sake of the future generations. I completely disagree with this opinion. Firstly, asking the present generation to give up their current lifestyle will lead to social instability. It is hard for the present generation to change their existing life patterns, and a sudden change will harm some industries and cause several social issues. For example, lots of plastic factories close in China because of the restriction of plastic products, and many employees are fired. Also, the reduction in the comfortable life of the present generation is unfair. Everyone should have the right to enjoy their lives, and they do not need to sacrifice their comfort to guarantee the benefit of other groups. On the other hand, solving environmental issues will take generations. The disposal process of some pollutants requires hundreds of years, and it can not be tackled in one generation. For instance, the Russian government spends several decades on solving nuclear waste, and three generations in Russia make efforts on dealing with this issue. Furthermore, the future generation have better innovative abilities. Compared with older people, it is easier for young people to adapt to the latest technologies and come up with new ideas to protect the environment. In conclusion, it is incorrect to solve environmental issues by simply sacrificing the comfortable life of the present generation, and it requires efforts of everyone.