Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents make their children overweight by overfeeding them and should be penalised. This essay disagrees with this statement because they are not always with their caretakers during the day, and obesity can sometimes be hereditary. One main reason parents should not be held accountable for their children's obesity is that they are not always with them during the day. Often, students meet up with their classmates after classes to have fast food, which is usually unhealthy and saturated with high amounts of salt, sugar, and fat. As a result, this could potentially lead to being obese and health problems such as high blood pressure and diabetes. For instance, a recent study found that almost fifty per cent of students who are obese exceed their caloric intake by consuming fast food after college hours. Another major factor that could contribute to being overweight is hereditary. In Some cases, the young ones become overweight due to genetic predisposition. As a result, they have no control over how it is passed from one generation to the other. However, most people approach this situation by lifestyle modification, physical activity, and proper diet and nutrition. For example, the World Health Organization released a report that almost thirty per cent of teenagers suffer from obesity due to positive family history. In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should not be penalised because of their young ones being fat. It seems to be that the main factors that contribute to this problem are the eating habits of boys and girls after college hours, also because of the preexistence of such a condition in the family. Therefore, penalising them is unreasonable and is not the right way to approach the issue of obesity.