Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of individuals opting to interact with other people online and do not prefer to meet them in person. This essay agrees that this is a negative development as there is a lack of connection with local people and privacy can be breached. One of the possible drawbacks of online communication is that individuals do not connect with people in their immediate circle. This is because people prioritise exchanging information with someone who is miles away rather than spending quality time with their family and loved ones, which can be a holistic experience. For example, many individuals choose to invest time interacting with comments on social media over discussing crucial family matters. Moreover, with the ease of access to the online community, constant interruptions can occur when interacting with someone nearby. For this reason, it is clearly evident that socialising with the help of the Internet can deteriorate domestic communication. Another negative effect could be the disruption of privacy in the online world. People generally tend to update their current status and expect comments from other users by uploading sensitive data such as photos, videos and current location to various social networking platforms. Additionally, the information put on these websites can never be completely erased as it leaves a trail of digital footprint. As a result, people with access to such delicate information can utilise it in unethical ways to profit themselves. For instance, personal chats of famous celebrities containing personal information, acquired by illegal activities such as hacking can be sold to interested individuals for significant amounts of money. Therefore, the addition of information to social networking platforms can lead to private data being leaked. In conclusion, although there are certain benefits of communicating online, in my opinion, this development is disadvantageous because of the lack of meaningful interactions with family and privacy. Thus, people should be careful when they add personal data to social media.