Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Societies are complex structures that rely on rules and laws to maintain order. The idea that a society could not function if individuals were free to act as they pleased is a compelling one, and I largely agree with it, but at the same time strict rules and regulations could lead to the lack of freedom. Therefore in this essay the ideas whether it is necessary to establish and maintain orders based on rules or not are going to be expressed. Being an integral and essential part of every modern state, different regulations provide security and stability, along with the maintenance of peace and public safety. They create a peaceful environment for living and development, and the lack of them might lead to a rise in crime rates, harmful behaviors, and violence as individuals might not have the fear of consequences. For example, Singapore's stringent laws have made it one of the safest countries in the world with a very low crime rate. The well-functioning legal system has also promoted economic development. Conversely, the abundance of rules could lead to a situation where the population cannot express their views and could even be persecuted and punished for it. In North Korea, for instance, where rules and strict laws play a significant role in the maintenance of its regime, regulations enhanced the creation of a well-functioning system within the state, but nevertheless, the DPRK is considered one of the states with the highest level of human rights violations. In such cases, the profusion of laws can help the government promote and support its regime, but at the same time, the rights of ordinary citizens might be infringed. In conclusion, it is important to mention that regulations exist in every country and society for centuries. Throughout history, they have helped authorities to regulate and promote the development of nations. Personal freedom is essential, but it must be exercised within the framework of rules and laws to ensure the functioning of society. As well, a balance must be struck between ensuring public order and allowing individual expression.