More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In our contemporary, there is a growing trend that buyers have a strong affinity for renowned brands. This essay will delve into the reasons that contribute to this phenomenon before presenting my personal stance on the matter. There are two causes that shed light on why people are obsessed with items of famous brands. Firstly, large brands guarantee good quality of products which attracts people to purchase. For example, although the clothes and shoes from international brands such as Nike and Adidas are pricy, people still go for their products as these items are more durable and stylish compared to the obscure brands. Additionally, people buy expensive merchandise to improve their social status. Goods from well-known brands are usually extortionate and require a high purchasing power. In other words, people reckon that owning branded possessions is an indicator of wealth, competence and success, resulting in their quest for brand products. From my perspective, this trend has a negative impact on the society. When people are accustomed to pursuing branded goods, big brands continue to thrive while small unpopular brands close down due to slack business. This leads to a monopoly of certain brands in the market, creating problems like inflation and reduced diversity of products for customers. Furthermore, this tendency will also be detrimental to social harmony. Poverty-stricken individuals seldom get lucrative jobs and struggle to make ends meet, not to mention purchasing things from expensive brands. On the other hand, the affluent can not only fulfil their fundamental necessities but also spend a lot of money on luxurious possessions. This discrepancy may cause hostility towards the rich from the impoverished people, increasing tension and conflicts within the society. In conclusion, people go for branded merchandise due to the consideration of quality assurance and the desire to improve social status. However, this may pose some drawbacks including monopoly and adversely impact social stability.