Children are facing more pressure from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of such pressure? What measures can be taken to reduce it?

With the technological advancement over the past century, humans are getting access to more data. This can be in the form of data and communication; from new information being added into syllabuses to adverts being shown on TV. Some people believe the consumption of such a vast amount of information can result in children feeling pressured. There are many instances where a child is learning more than what their parents were taught at school. For example, coding. A few decades ago, learning to code was something that was taught at university - now it is taught as a language in primary schools. This is an inevitable feat, as computers are slowly being fitted into all devices and the use of AI is becoming the norm. With the advancements in technology, future inventors will have an advantage as coding will be second nature to them. Furthermore, even if they do not pursue a career in tech, they are able to mend broken appliances at home or run diagnostic tests without the need to call an engineer. Although this may be considered a life skill, it can cause the child to feel pressured. Children are also interacting with more people than ever before. In the past, they would see their friends at school and maybe play games for a while after school before being called in to have dinner and do homework. Nowadays, they aren't ever entirely switched off. They can come home from school and log onto a gaming site where they will be able to communicate with even more individuals. Moreover, they can also have access to social media such as Snapchat to talk to friends or Omegle to talk to random people around the world. Constant communication is not natural and can add to the pressure they may feel. Finally, commercial pressure is one of the most dangerous types. Children are being fed ads in all aspects of their lives - whilst watching TV, whilst using the internet, even when talking to friends. In comparison, during the 90's, children would see ads primarily whilst watching TV and maybe in a few posters. Now there is exponentially more content to consume which leads to pressure. I believe there are ways around this. There should be moderation in the ads that are targeted to anyone under the age of 10. There should also be stricter rules about children joining social media. In terms of academics, there is an argument for the increased content in the syllabus, however, it can be taught in a way that relieves pressure on students instead.