The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of individuals choosing to communicate through social networking platforms. It is considered by some individuals that this is a step in the right direction, while another school of thought believe that it is detrimental to the future of communication. This essay outlines both these views and agrees that a right balance has to be struck to fully reap the benefits of this development. One the the main advantages of interacting with the help of social media is that the distance barrier can be overcome. This can help individuals maintain healthy and meaningful relationships with friends and family members who live far away. For example, students studying abroad can update their parents about their lives in a new country. Additionally, through video calls, they could also see their family members which completely enhances the communication process. Therefore, the advancements in technology have enabled long-distance audio and video-aided communication and can have a positive effect on many individuals. Despite the benefits, communication through social media can be disadvantageous as there could be a decline in the frequency and quality of interactions. In the past, people used to meet their friends to spend quality time with them in social areas such as coffee shops or bars. With the development of social networking platforms, individuals prefer to communicate in the comfort of their homes instead of meeting people outside. As a result, it has made people lazier and has reduced the value of human interaction. In my opinion, to fully benefit from the development of the Internet, a combination of both these methods of communication has to be used and the right balance has to be maintained. If the distance between two people willing to communicate is large, online communication might be the best method. However, local meetings have to be encouraged as they help to overcome the detrimental effects of communication via the Internet. In conclusion, although the distance between individuals can be ignored while communicating online, it cannot be denied that the quality of these interactions falls dramatically. Hence, I believe that proper usage of both these methods is essential for effective communication.