In many countries, a prison sentence is considered as the best way to decrease crime. However, education is often argued as a more effective way. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The increasing crime rates globally undoubtedly question the effectiveness of prison sentences. Although, in a majority of countries imprisonment is believed to be the most effective method of reducing criminal activities. Nevertheless, educating criminals vocationally and academically has proven more impactful. It is my fierce belief that an amalgamation of both is required to uproot this issue completely. The doubts regarding imprisonment are due to the fact that most crimes are committed by repeat criminals who have already served jail time in the past. Nevertheless, if there were to be no repercussions for their deeds - crimes are set to increase exponentially. To put it in perspective, fear of being imprisoned limits many to fall into illegal activities, leading to a safer society. Moreover, institutionalisation of criminals also provides justice to the victims, by fairly punishing those responsible for their losses. Without these, there would be a sense of unrest and a want for revenge by these victims, resulting in a further increase in criminal cases. Therefore, doing away with prisons would definitely lead to higher incidences and a chaotic society with no trust in the judicial system. To tackle this pressing issue in a systematic way, introducing educational subjects and workshops teaching vocational skills can serve as successful steps. Proper rehabilitation can be achieved with greater ease in such criminals, as it is statistically proven that most criminal acts are committed by uneducated and unskilled members of society. These individuals are often left with no choice other than to make a living for themselves by illegal methods to sustain their lives. Educating and teaching them skills can motivate criminals to utilise the taught skill towards building a life by fair means instead of relapsing. For instance, if individuals serving jail time are taught to repair electronic appliances there is a greater chance of them being able to earn enough to lead a respectable life, as compared to the ones who are sent back into the society without any personal growth. In conclusion, I firmly believe a cumulative strategy of punishment and skill development can dramatically reduce crime rates, as it empowers previously unemployed criminals who lacked the means to aquire any skill set and were forced to return to the world of crime for survival.