After graduating from high school, some young people decide to start working right away instead of going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

It has been evidently seen that most youngsters prefer to start working immediately after finishing secondary school without going through a tertiary education. There are pros and cons to this which I will be discussing in this essay. Firstly, one main advantage young people have when they decide to start earning money right after graduating from high school instead of furthering education is that they gain more working experience as well as have financial stability over the years compared to their colleagues that ventured into university and spent more time studying. This can be attributed to the fact that most of the juvenile dive into business or skill acquisition and become entrepreneurs hence making profits and earnings in active stage of their lives. For example, from history the south-eastern youths in Nigeria are known to be the wealthiest in the country. This is because their male youths go into apprenticeship immediately after basic or secondary school where they gain enough skills and afterwards start up their own business hence become successful as youths. In contrast, it is imperative to note the possible disadvantages associated with not obtaining a university degree which is mainly a limitation to certain career choice and growth. That is, one with only an O-level certificate cannot take up certain professions like lawyer, doctor etc and cannot be promoted to more than certain levels at their workplace notwithstanding the number of years of working experience. For example, bankers in west Africa can begin with only WAEC (West African Examination Certificate) but can only grow further in the finance sector by furthering their education to obtain BA or MBA. This is to be fair to those that acquired degrees and supposedly have more intellectual knowledge hence placing more value on university degree over wide range of experience. In conclusion, many young people prefer to work after high school without going to college but there are pros and cons to this and should be properly considered before