Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism? What measures can be taken to protect local culture and communities?

In the past few decades, people have traveled more often due to cheaper air travel. This has resulted in increased numbers of tourists to places which used to be hard to reach. Some individuals contend that this is a negative development for the local people and customs. This essay will highlight two problems caused by this issue, and discuss two solutions which can be implemented to preserve local traditions.  The main problem can be the increased strain on the environment. Increased tourism tends to generate a large amount of waste, which is dumped into nearby water bodies. This disturbs the local wildlife, forcing them to find new shelter. For instance, after the industrialization of West Bengal, India, the tiger population dwindled as a result of extremely polluted rivers owing to industrial waste. Another concern is the loss of traditional values and customs due to Westernization. Many women in Agra, India, for example, prefer to wear shorts instead of a saree, after being exposed to American women.  Turning to possible remedies, the government can restrict the number of individuals allowed to visit such areas. There can be online websites to distribute a limited number of passes in a season to avoid overcrowding. This has been done in Havasu Falls in Arizona, an area belonging to the Native Indian tribe. Additionally, traditional customs should be instilled in children from a young age. This can be done by introducing new courses in the curriculum or organizing events in schools that involve parents. To illustrate, my school had a cultural day where students were supposed to dress up in traditional attire, enabling us to form a connection with our culture since childhood.  In conclusion, although eco-tourism brings a set of problems such as environmental damage and erosion of local culture, they can be mitigated by stringent regulation by authorities and children being taught about traditional customs. Altogether, this can result in tourists experiencing regional traditions without harming the local customs and people.