In many countries today people are living in poverty. Why is this the case. And what can be done to solve the problem?

Extreme poverty is one of the economic crises in many countries today. Major population of the world is either on the poverty line or below it where they don’t have access to even the basic amenities of life such as food, shelter, clothing, primary health and primary education; which all are needed to live a normal basic life. Richer is getting richer and Poorer is becoming poorer day by day because of the lack of facilities and job opportunities available to them. The increasing rate of population is one of the main reasons. Even though the facilities are available in some areas apply due to apply inflation and illiteracy, people remain deprived of all the facilities. This increases the regional and economic disparities between rich and poor. A recent report showed that 65 per cent of the population below the poverty line is struggling for basic needs to get fulfilled. The government plays a crucial role in improving the condition of poor people and eradicating poverty from the society. It can impose higher taxes on rich and can spent on the welfare of the poorer sections of the society through various schemes and programmes such as the Employment generation scheme and poverty elimination programme. Besides, the government can also provide vocational training to students free of cost by developing various educational institutions in backward areas. This training and education would provide future policymakers with exciting and inspiring opportunities to take up various jobs and thus, contribute to the betterment of a society. In apply light of this evidence, it is undeniable that the government and other affluents must take necessary steps to reduce the gap between the rich and poor. The government must ensure that the weaker sections of the society are not deprived of the facilities and amenities available to them.