Some people think that if a country is already rich, any addition in economic wealth does not make its citizen happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that economic growth in rich countries does not result in happier inhabitants. Although, I firmly believe that such advancements play a vital role in increasing the happiness index of any country by providing its citizens with higher comfort levels and economic security, therefore, I completely disagree with the sentiment that the population of a wealthy country does not become happier with their nation becoming richer. Wealthy nations that grow their money are able to provide better facilities and luxuries to their citizens. This is to say that with more money governments of these countries can invest in better healthcare facilities and public transport. As a result, residents have an increased ease of living and an overall better lifestyle making them more content. For example, in a country like the UK, citizens have an assurity of being able to travel comfortably to any destination by public transport. However, this is not the case with financially weaker countries, as they are unable to provide such facilities, making day-to-day life more difficult for its residents. Hence, with the betterment of the country, citizens are set to become happier. Another imperative aspect of overall happiness for people is the sense of security. Humans tend to feel more comfortable when they are not burdened by the possibility of losing their jobs and subsequent price surges which are inevitable factors of restricting economic growth. For example, individuals living in rich and developing countries only have to focus on their personal growth which makes them secure and happy. This is why each nation strives to earn more money and increase its gross domestic product, to save its citizens from a debilitating future. In addition to this, if one aspires to live a stress-free and content life, it is undoubtedly easier to do so in a stable economy which is steadily growing, diminishing the possibility of recession. In conclusion, due to obvious professional and personal advantages, I do not agree with the belief that residents of rich countries do not become happier by their country's financial progress. It is clear that such countries provide a secure and comfortable environment which positively impacts the population.