Some Children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

While it is widely claimed that younger generation spend hours daily on their smartphone nowadays, others argue that there are possible factors that contributed to this trend. Both cause of screentime of youngster and reasons why I believe it can lead a negative impact on them will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it may seems sensible for some to believe that kids spend time on screen more than in the past. This is possibly because the advancement of technology and the multifunction of the device can be used in various aspects; entertainment or educational purpose. Along with the exposure of technologies since young, it promote the rise of screentime as well. In this respect, there is an evident from a research centre shown that more than 90% of the children uses their smartphones atleast an hours either for socializing or surfing for the informations. However, I personally argue in favour of its potential drawbacks both psychological and physical effects of this worried trends. Psychologically speaking, by exposing to the device daily as an amusement can promote addiction just like drugs. To exemplify, internet addiction is now reported as new symptom in psychology these days. Moreover, there are many health problems related with smartphone can be observed such as eye straint strains and muscle strain due to extensive usage of eyes focusing on the device and inappropriate postures. In summary, although it is undeniable that smartphone can be seen as basic devices that children use it daily, I am of the opinion that this rising trend could possibly pose a serious threat for the young in the future both their health and emotion and this should not be neglected in order to maintain good health for the children.