In some developing countries, it is difficult to get good teachers to work in rural areas which can have a negative impact on the education of children in those rural communities. Why do you think good teachers do not want to work in rural area in developing countries? What could be done to solve this problem?

Teachers have played an important role in grooming our next generation. However, many teachers with experiences may prefer to work in urban area rather than rural area. This essay is going to explain the reasons for such work preference, which are the abundant supply of amenities in urban area and the resources allocation in rural area in developing countries, meanwhile suggesting ways to tackle the problem. To begin with, it is beyond doubt that the city center usually houses the best facilities of the city. More amenities, such as restaurants, sportsgrounds, are available in the urban region when compared to the rural areas. Therefore, most of the teachers may prefer to work in urban area due to its convenience. Moreover, rural area usually receives fewer fundings than urban area. With more resources, ranging from the availbility of teaching assistants, the workload of the teachers can be smaller and thus is more attractive to the teachers. To tackle the problem, providing economic incentives and increasing the funding available in rural region are effective in encouraging people to move to rural area. Firstly, giving subsidies to teachers working in rural area increases the attractiveness of the rural region for the teachers. With more teachers moving to the rural area, the teaching quality can be improved as more human resources are available. On the other hand, increasing the funding enables the rural schools to build more amenties or renovate the school. Such changes may improve the overall attractiveness of rural school. Education is of a utmost importance to ensure the sustainability of our legacy. However, with the policy addressing the rural-urban disparity, it is beyond doubt that the future of the students can be as bright as Sun.