Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. It is true that animal experiments play a significant role in the development of new medicines and safety tests for new products. While some suggest that animal experiments should be banned, I do believe these tests are necessary for human beings. On the one hand, animal experiments might have ethical issues. Firstly, laboratory animals lose their freedom. Most experimental animals are closed in cages, and they are not allowed to go outside. For example, experimental dogs in some laboratories have to be taken many times of tests until they die, and they do not have a chance to leave. In addition, the sacrifice of animals is meaningless. The development of new drugs often takes a long time, and the possibility of success is low. Therefore, most experiments waste animal lives because they cannot reach the expected result. However, while animal experiments are ethically incorrect, governments can set up relevant regulations to guarantee the basic benefit of animals. On the other hand, I believe animal experiments make a big contribution to medical costs and saving lives. Firstly, animal tests can reduce the medical expenditures of patients. Compared with human tests, animal experiments cost less money. Thus, the lower development costs decrease medical prices, and more patients can afford them. Moreover, animal experiments can save millions of human lives with a tiny sacrifice. Most developments of new drugs only require a limited number of animals for experiments, but they are likely to save many lives. For instance, the Chinese COVID-19 vaccines only took fifty mice for experiments, but they effectively treated a lot of patients. In conclusion, while animal experiments are against the moral standard, governments can come up with related regulations to protect animal rights. From my perspective, the benefits of animal tests cannot be ignored because they reduce medical prices and save the lives of people.