The best way to increase road transport safety is to make vehicle drivers take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is sometimes believed that taking an annual driving test is the best solution to enhance the safety of road transport. While I may acknowledge the logic behind this suggestion due to the benefits it brings such as reducing the number of accidents or promoting awareness of updated rules, I still firmly disagree with it due to the inconvenience for experienced drivers and more cost and time-consuming. On the one hand, those who agree with this view may have several arguments. First of all, there are many accidents caused by vehicle issues like monitor and car wheels or the complacency and subjectivity of drivers, so the examination can provide help to maintain good driving habits and reduce risk when arriving. Another possible argument is that frequent tests ensure that people can grasp the traffic laws which can change at any time. For citizens, who are busy with work and lack time to update information about the rules of transport, it is useful to take the exam instead of finding out the new regulations. On the other hand, I still strongly oppose this view for several reasons. Chief among these is that the annual driving test is less effective for people who are experienced with transportation for a long time and comply with traffic laws, so it could be more time-consuming and costly for them. For example, individuals who obey the rules and commit fewer violations are still checked by authorities each year, while older people or repeat violators are the same, therefore this suggestion should apply to specific groups such as elderly people and those with previous violations. Meanwhile, there are many different solutions to address the risks of road safety, namely imposing higher penalties on offenders, or raising the requirements of drivers in terms of physical health. In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that driving tests each year is the best way for road safety. Nevertheless, I cannot support such a view given the aforementioned reasons.