In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city centre, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city. Give reasons in support of and opposing this traffic congestion policy, and give your own opinion

Urbanisation and modern life have presented people with a number of challenges and decisions. However, the crux of the matter is related to traffic jams in megacities. In some urban areas, the high-ranking officials pass laws to decrease the number of cars on the street, such as paying money as a fine for those who drive their cars into the city centre. In my view, although underestimating the importance of imposing stricter laws and measures is not logical to control such a trend, it does not necessarily mean that it does not have any disadvantages. On the one hand, increasing the number of vehicles on the street is a common problem in big cities. To clarify, these places are home to many people. If each person drives their own car downtown, traffic congestion can be expected, which results in air pollution due to carbon dioxide emissions from these motor vehicles. Hence, this is the responsibility of the government to stop drivers from going to urban areas, especially during rush hours. Otherwise, residents may struggle to survive as a result of a great amount of toxic materials in the air. On the other hand, such a policy can pose a threat to the lives of those who make money through transportation. For example, in my country, Iran, many create a source of income for themselves by driving. If they are unable to get people to the city centre, their customers may be reduced significantly. As a result, they become reluctant to continue their jobs because of low income. This not only endangers the level of income for drivers, but also affects society negatively as a whole. Moreover, equality goes a long way. There are some emergency situations in which individuals have no other option but to enter the city centre. If they get a fine, it puts a lot of financial pressure on them, especially for ordinary people in society, since they are really vulnerable in terms of financial matters. So, monetary policy can not be the best solution for this crux. In conclusion, although reducing traffic jams is a must for the government due to its severe complications, even if they have to impose heavy penalties on residents, it does not necessarily mean that it can be beneficial for all city dwellers. In my view, the cons of such a trend outweigh the pros.