Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children’s life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, children's development has been a trending topic among parents. For this matter, an argument occurs regarding the best method to develop underage life skills. Some people believe that being engaged in active pastimes is better than reading while others think otherwise. I believe that both activities share an equal effect on children's life skills. On the one hand, physical activities play an important role in the improvement of some skills, such as teamwork, leadership, communication, and problem-solving skills. While playing in a group, children build their sense of belonging and desire to contribute to their group. As a consequence, some of them sometimes act as the leader, and others try to follow the leader. In addition, when problems occur during this activity, they practise their communication and problem-solving skills in order to solve challenging situations. On the other hand, reading is also known as a great way to develop some soft skills, namely imagination, empathy, and communication skills. It is because reading exposes children to another perspective when facing situations. Consequently, it helps them to understand others better. Additionally, they are exposed to new vocabulary and new knowledge which should be related to their communication skills, written or spoken. In summary, both pastime and reading are great methods to develop children's life skills. While physical activities improve teamwork, leadership, communication and problem-solving skills, reading may help them to improve their imagination, empathy, and communication. Thus, I believe if one can balance both of these activities, it will allow them to develop a rounded set of life skills.