The news about violent crimes may frighten people or, on contrary, encourage them to commit a crime. Therefore, some believe that these types of news should not be reported in newspapers or on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, crime rate has been increasing dramatically around the world. Many individuals believe that reported crimes should not on the news as it may make people feel unsafe or even encourage them to commit felonies. In this essay, I will discuss why I partially agree with this issue. On one hand, reporting criminal acts in newspapers could be advantageous by informing citizens to be aware and cautious from dangerous individuals. That is to say, parents should let there children out late at night unsupervised as they would be more exposed to kidnapping by violent groups. Additionally, reported violent crimes could inform people about the punishment they could recieve if they tried comitting an offence. Therefore, they would be more careful and frightened to perform these wrong doings. On the other hand, many teenagers and young adults are convinced that they could be famous by being on the news so when they see criminals trending all over the news they feel encouraged to perform a criminal act. Take, for example, a teenager in France attempted to rob a bank with the intention of being famous. To conclude, even though reporting unlawful acts on television and in newspapers could be beneficial, it could also harm the minds of young people. I believe that informing individuals about these issues could help them become more cautious and and prevent them from doing the same but I also think that it may encourage the younger generation to break the law.