Many criminals resort back to crime as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes for this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, it is quite common for criminals to commit other crimes as soon as they are released from jail. This essay will discuss some reasons that may cause them to act this way and some solutions. To begin with, there are many causes for this problem. Firstly, prisons do not offer the right rehabilitation programs. In fact, in those places, the focus is on punishment rather than rehabilitation, thus, prisoners are not prepared for their comeback in society and they are often led to go against the law for a second time. Furthermore, many employers still have preconceptions about people with a criminal record, therefore, it is often difficult for them to find employment or a place to stay. In addition, those situations can sometimes affect their mental health and cause substance or alcohol abuse. Besides, they can face severe social stigma and discrimination from society or even their family. Moreover, in most cases, the support system is not adequate. Coming back to society seems impossible for them, thus, the only way for them to earn money or survive is by committing other crimes. For example, a newly released man with no job or place to stay is forced to steal in order to eat and survive. Indeed, governments should focus on rehabilitation and educational programs during their time in prison. For example, inmates should go on psychological therapy and be taught how to work. Hence, after the release, they should be reintroduced into society and government services should help them find a house and a stable job, in order to have a normal life and stay away from other crimes.