Today, more people are waiting until their thirties to get married and have children. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Nowadays, weddings and parenthood are postponed by a lot of individuals until they reach the age of 30. In my view, this should be perceived as a positive trend for two main reasons. The first reason why deferring marriage and child-rearing is a great decision is because it can help ensure couples’ financial security. Although it could probably be seen that they are later than the others, it can enable them to prepare financially more maturely. By being financially stable, they could avoid marital conflict since their primary needs are easier to fulfil, such as an adequate home, nutritious food, and decent clothes to live a comfortable life. The fact that some married couples ended up with divorce and splitting up shows that the importance of financial stability cannot be underestimated. The second argument in favour of getting married at a later age is because it can help them to have emotional maturity which means that they can improve their chance of having a harmonious life. To illustrate, elderly couples tend easily to forgive their partner and also accept each other's shortcomings, not letting silly problems ruin their connection. Because age and maturity have a strong and positive correlation with the success of marriage life, it is okay if we choose to delay marriage and prepare more rather than doing it in a rush and lead to failure. In conclusion, delaying marriage and parenthood can allow couples to achieve not only financial stability but also emotional maturity. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that this should be seen as a positive trend.