People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The increasing price of healthcare has become a major issue in recent years, as millions of people cannot afford to get better. Some people argue that people whose way of life and eating habits lead them to have diseases must pay more for medical treatment. In my perspective, people who are responsible for their illness should have to contribute towards the cost of their medical treatment. First of all, there is no denying the fact that the number of people who are heroin obsessed is increasing constantly. Therefore, to medication these people, additional money is needed in this instance. For this reason, it is advised that people who live unhealthy lifestyles cover their healthcare costs. For example, the most recent estimate suggests that billions of dollars are spent on drug addict treatment. On the other hand, every year millions of cancer patients pass away due to a lack of finance. Furthermore, a financial penalty can be an effective motivator. People may be more likely to adopt positive changes if they are informed that engaging in unhealthy habits might result in greater healthcare costs. For example, persons who were pre-diabetic discovered it difficult to give up sugar-filled drinks. They ultimately chose the water move when his doctor warned them about the possible future medical expenses associated with diabetes, and their health significantly improved. In conclusion, even if certain communities argue that this is a poor strategy for avoiding paying healthcare expenses for those who lead unhealthy lives, I agree that people who become ill due to their own mistakes should be held to account for their medical expenses.