A lot of people nowadays are spending too much money and they don’t save anything for future use. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Money is arguably the most important commodity of life. Some people desire to spend their earnings and live lavishly, whereas others believe in the importance of saving for the future. My beliefs align with the latter. In this day and age, more individuals are spending too much. This essay will discuss the outcomes of such a habit. On the one hand, there is something to be said about spending money on whatever you want. The freedom to purchase any necessary commodities is a blessing. For example, having the newest iPad to complete homework easily, or a powerful computer to make remote working efficient. Without spending money and making do with what you have can impede progress. This means individuals may need to work twice as hard to get the same result. On the other hand, putting money aside is necessary for financial security. It provides a sense of relief knowing the future is secure. For instance, for those working in the NHS, a portion of their income is automatically transferred to their NHS Pension Fund which is matched by their employer. This allows them to be carefree knowing they have their future taken care of and consequently, lets them focus on the present. To conclude there are positives to spending, however, this should not be too extravagant. There should be a balance which is appropriate to the person in question. If the spending becomes a little too frivolous, this could easily lead to debt which is an intensely negative development.