People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Paying taxes to the government has become a controversial topic in the present day, with the idea that citizens should hold all their remuneration for themselves. Other people, including myself, totally disagree with this perspective due to various critical drawbacks, which will be proved in this essay. First of all, taxes are essential for the benefit of the community and individuals, thus, paying taxes is considered the responsibility of each person to financially support and share the burden with the government, which plays a pivotal role in serving residents through various aspects, such as the medical system and the national economy. Take the COVID-19 pandemic as an example, thanks to the government allocating its budget, which accumulated for years from tariff revenue, to invest in new medical treatments and buy vaccinations to prevent the disease. If individuals kept all their earnings, the quality of life would suffer, as the government has lessened its capacity to protect its inhabitants. By the same token, the citizens’ tax is also a driving force for the government to invest in infrastructure and the economy to develop the general implementation of the country, laying the foundation for a thriving future when people can have a better quality of life. The drawbacks of not spending tax on the state may not be overlooked, namely income inequality and social discrimination, which spell trouble for not only individuals but also the whole country. For example, when some higher-income earners refuse to pay a part of their income to equally allocate to the less fortunate, it may result in a gap expansion between walks of life. As a result, the issue of discrimination will surge, taking a heavy toll on social justice and reducing its quality for people. More and more people may be suffering from a lack of food, education, and standard life quality, which is to blame as the main culprit for an increase in illegal behaviors and offenders. Overall, allowing people to retain all their finances may result in various detrimental impacts, which could not ensure that everyone has equal access to an equal life. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of people who are not willing to pay taxes to support the government and enhance their own lives in the long run, as some rationales have mentioned.