Public celebrations( such as national days, festivals, etc) are held in most countries. Theses are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things Do you agree or disagree?

Public celebrations like national days, festivals, etc are held in many countries. Because of that, people argue that governments should expend money on more valuable things and celebrations like these are quite pricely. In my perspective, I am on the both sides. I will discuss it on this essay. First thing first, national celebrations in a country is still important. No matter what how expensive the celebration is. As long as the government can manage the budgeting. In my own country, there are a lot of celebrations, either national or provinces level. Every celebrations have its own meaning. For example, on heroes or independence day, the citizen will learn the history of their country. By that, they will have a high respect and sense of nationalism. Is not it a good thing?. Another example is Nyepi's day. In this day, electricity is not allowed and stay at home on the whole day. The result is good for air pollutions. People may concern about the money. But, the money is direct to held celebrations which young generations must continue in the future. I agree that the government should spend the money to more important things. However, this celebrations also important. In this case, I believe the government has divide the finance for all of the country's needs. The celebrations like these is only happen once a year. So, there is nothing wrong to feel the euphoria of the celebrations. For instance, on independence day in Indonesia, people feel overjoyed because they can participate to join many competitions to celebrate it. To conclude, the government can still use the money on valuable things while celebrate the national celebrations. Celebrations like these have good impacts to everyone.