Governemts should spend more on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, transportation plays a crucial role in people's lives. Although some believe that road infrastructure demands comprehensive attention, others argue that governments should invest more funds in the railway sector. Nonetheless, I subscribe to the latter view, owing to the affordability and potentiality of the railway system. First and foremost, trains have been an affordable means of transport for decades. To elaborate on this, since trains cover long distances by burning diesel, commuting in trains costs less compared to any other mode of transport that operates on petrol or fuel. For example, in several world nations, where exorbitant commodities prohibit people from commuting in vehicles, such as buses or cars, more people opt to travel by train. Thus,the cost-effectiveness of the public railways appeals to larger number of commuters. In addition, utilising railways for commute may also facilitate conserving the environment. In other words, not only do trains emit the minimum amount of gases in the atmosphere, but also have a reduced carbon footprint, creating a pollutant-free environment. To exemplify this, recently numerous affluent countries have been enhancing their railway project in order to preserve the environment. Hence, the eco-friendly feature of the trains should entice the governments to subsidies the railway domain of transport. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that railways are a remarkable means of transportation that enable commuters to travel at relatively cheaper prices while conserving the environment simultaneously, and, therefore, the governments should shoulder the railway networks in order to make them more convenient for public use.