Some people say schools should be responsible for teaching young adults to look after their health, others think this is not the responsibility of schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a general consensus that health is key to a good life. Therefore, some people believe that the requirement of taking care of oneself should be taught at school whereas others believe the topic is not academic and so not a teaching subject. I believe there is a shared responsibility by various guardians of children to ensure they understand the importance of a healthy lifestyle. Schools are the main source of education for minors under the age of 16 years. They are taught other life skills, such as navigating Microsoft software, so why would learning about health be any different? For example, schoolchildren are taught how to code and use different software from a very young age, since it is integral to their future. Whether or not the child chooses a career in programming, they will have the understanding to troubleshoot if required. Consequently, this concept should also be applied to teaching children about living a healthy life, as without it children end up developing unhealthy habits resulting in diseases like obesity. On the other hand, schools are not the only source of information. Parents are responsible for passing on good habits to their children. Essentially, the topic is not academic, instead, it is more of an experience and hence should be shown at home to allow children to emulate it. For instance, there are many life skills that are developed at home, like washing the dishes or doing laundry. In this way, showing children how to be healthy is also something that can be done at home. Without this positive guidance, children tend to form the bad habits that they see, like smoking or eating junk food, which can lead to illnesses like cancer. In conclusion, there are many methods to influence children into developing healthy habits and so the responsibility is not entirely on the shoulders of the teachers. I believe for a better future, all guardians must play their part in helping children develop a healthy lifestyle.