Schools should concentrate on teaching students, the academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been believed that students should be taught only theoretical subjects like mathematics, and science, rather than extra-curricular activities at school. In my opinion sports and other extracurricular activities, play a crucial role in building the character of the learner and they should be mandatory in school. First of all, multitasking enhances the cognitive skills and productivity of an individual. To illustrate, the common phrase of Western countries says that," All work no play, Makes Jack a dull boy. By that it means, paying equal attention to play and other skills can be helpful to anyone in the future for sure. It is indeed true that physical sports need good health, thus it encourages students to be fit as a fiddle, compared to those complex mathematics formulas that will be useless for 60% of schoolgoers. Moreover, curricular activities can bring several opportunities to the students. In other words, there are plenty of successful singers, dancers, and athletes had been set a great epitome for this. For example, Virat Kohli who is a famous cricketer from India recently stated in an interview on a news channel that if I had never joined a school cricket team, no one would have known about me. And that is how he showed a new career option to the youth. In conclusion, in my point of view, students are at a disadvantage, if their schools have not allowed such practices on campus. Sports and other curricular activities add that spice and charm to the bookish knowledge.