Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other.

It is often thought that being competitive is a beneficial stance in our everyday life, including at school or work, while others are convinced that working together as a community is better than fighting against each other. Although the latter opinion can be beneficial in some cases, I believe that competition brings substantial advantages to individuals. To begin with, one primary advantage of cooperating with peers or colleagues is being able to complete tasks quickly and efficiently, as well as gain useful knowledge imparted from more experienced fellows. Plus, we can offer assistance regarding things that we are capable of to someone who needs them. For example, students in a study group are proven to have better examination scores compared to those who studied alone because they managed to ameliorate each other’s understanding. However, some might take advantage of cooperation and grab the chance to not give any contributions. On the other hand, healthy competitions between communities can promote personal growth and development in a person. There are numerous skills that can be developed by competing with each other such as punctuality, quick thinking, and logical thinking. For instance, a recent study found that working under pressure can increase an individual’s focus by about 20%. Hence, this would be helpful for companies to boost their monthly sales by improving workers’ qualities and rewarding employees by their performance. Therefore, I support the view that competing against each other is more crucial for individuals and community’s growth. In conclusion, while cooperating with each other can offer people promising work, I believe that being competitive leads to success in their study or job.