Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A considerable number of individuals think that social media platforms have significantly harmed society. I believe that while these platforms bring numerous benefits to people, their negative effects - including misinformation and the decrease in human attention span - should not be overlooked. One important impact is how social media spreads misinformation to its users. Social platform allows people to quickly access a wide range of information. While this might be a major benefit, it also means false information will spread rapidly. Furthermore, although the majority of users are people from the age of 18-29, individuals from younger age groups are increasingly using social networking applications. This poses a threat because these users can not yet differentiate inaccurate information. For instance, I have seen many people consistently drinking hot water or eating garlic during the COVID-19 pandemic just because some random newspaper claimed that doing that could prevent the virus. In addition, social media is gradually depleting human attention span. Aside from posts and statuses, features like Youtube Shorts and Instagram Reels,... can easily be accessed, and are extremely addictive due to their mechanics of the endless cycle of scrolling. These "Shorts" and "Reels" only last for 20-30 seconds, and it takes the human mind about 40 seconds to start comprehending. As a result, according to Reclaim.ai, just as the brain starts focusing and a new video is played, the concentration flow is reset, which triggers people's short-term memory abilities. However, social networking sites are not entirely negative. Social media helps people stay connected and share information conveniently. However, the downsides often outweigh the benefits, such as the rising danger of misinformation and the decline of human attention span. Therefore, it's crucial to be aware and maintain a healthy relationship with them.