Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the optimal solution to enhance road safety is to increase the minimum age requirement for driving. This essay agrees with this statement because teenagers are too reckless and immature to understand driving rules, and they lack skills and experience. To begin with, proponents of underage driving can be considered dangerous because teenagers are too young and immature to understand traffic safety rules, which are amended by the government for necessary reasons. It has been observed that teen drivers drive recklessly, due to which there have been numerous cases of accidents, and many innocent people have lost their lives and their loved ones. For instance, in recent news, a 17-year-old was rashly driving his father's Porche' without any driver's license and lost control as a result, he crashed into two adults who were driving their motorbike at a minimal speed. Secondly, another significant aspect is that teenagers lack skills and experience in driving. Teenagers have fewer driving hours as compared to experienced drivers. This translates to less time spent reacting to unexpected situations on the road. Moreover, teens are still developing their sense of judgement and implausible control which can lead to reckless driving behaviours such as speeding and distracting other drivers. To conclude, from arguments and given examples, I firmly agree with this statement because teenagers are still developing and their poor sense of judgement, impulsive behaviour, and lack of skills and experience can lead to reckless driving, which can result in serious road accidents.