Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, advancements in technology have changed how people connect with each other. This has turned people into making many more friends but reduced the depth of relationships. It is a harmful change as people are less able to express their personal feelings. Technology's influences have made people make much more friends than they possibly could in the past. This is due to the fact that social media has revolutionized communication and helps people to keep in touch with each other regardless of their geographical location. Another change in human relationships caused by modern technology is that the number of intimate relationships has been substantially less significant. While social media has enabled users to communicate with many, it has deterred them from strengthening bonds. For instance, in Vietnam, where young people 20 years ago had much deeper connections than their modern counterparts as technology was underdeveloped back then. The changes in the type of relationships as a result of technology are disadvantageous, for they deter people from having deeper connections. Lacking valuable bonds means that they have no one to confide with during depressive episodes which is inevitable for most humans, and it increases the possibility of making unwise decisions. Examples of this can be seen all over the world, where cases of depression leading to suicidal behaviours are becoming more and more common, and one of the primary contributing factors is that the victims have nobody to share their burdens with. In conclusion, despite people, nowadays, having more ability to communicate, they are making less meaningful relationships; thus, this has diminished the quality of relationships and harms their well-being.