Many countries spend a lot of money on art. Some people think investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art is a form of expression that signifies difference. Many countries spend money and effort for pieces of art to set them apart from other countries, creating their own identity. Even so, some people believe that spending should be allocated to improving health and education rather than Art. Although both perspectives are valid strengthen by evidence, health and education must remain the priority of a country. From one perspective, art is a form of expression that requires creativity and artistry. Through art, history and identity is illustrated, and lots of countries value these and would be willing to spend loads of money towards it. For instance, the Indonesian government has allocated around 500 million Rupiah for the construction of Indonesia's first president's statue. Although it is a wonderous amount of money, people would look at the statue and remember the rooots rots and identity of Indonesia as a country, setting it apart from others. Thus, art becomes a necessary investment. Even so, the amount of money that is spent on art becomes unworthy compared to the improvement of health and education. Although identity as a country is important, the most important factor of a country is the citizens themself. As a developing country, Indonesia has a handful of people living in poverty. To spend money for improving health and education would mean to invest in the countries ' future and not only the present. Citizens can be taught identity and history through books but the action of improving health and education can only be done by the government. Hence, money should be allocated to health and education instead of art. A country should always focus on their citizens, as a country is defined by their citizens. Therefore, I believe that money should be focused on improving health and education of the citizens rather than art pieces.