Poaching is a persistent problem in many countries. What are the causes of the rise in poaching? What are the effects of this practice?

Presently, many nations confront a constant issue called illegal hunting. In general, this global phenomenon could be caused by misunderstandings about human health and financial profits. Hence, poaching could negatively impact the natural biodiversity and the survival of humanity. One possible explanation for this misbelief is that some people suppose that the consumption of animal products could impact their health. In other words, animal products could prolong longevity. For example, patients who are suffering from cancer tend to consume rhinoceros horns to cure their severe illness. Another interpretation is that the illegal wildlife trade could generate super-profits for poachers. This means that the body parts of endangered animals could be sold at exorbitant prices. For instance, some wealthy collectors are willing to spend millions of dollars on ivories or white tiger skin. Hence, wildlife species are on the brink of extinction because of the high demand for health and profitability. Consequently, the aforementioned deeds could have adverse effects. Firstly, illicit hunting might disturb the balance of nature, leading to the disruption of the food chain. If lions or tigers are hunted excessively in nature, other animal populations might be uncontrolled. Secondly, this unlawful behaviour could contribute to health catastrophes. This could result in the generation of new diseases that threaten human civilization. Take the COVID-19 virus as an example; according to scientific research, this disaster happened due to the illegal hunting of natural animals, such as bats and monkeys. Therefore, poaching could put humanity in grave danger. In conclusion, some misunderstandings about human health cause the rise in hunting wildlife, and this illegal action could severely affect human beings.