Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of modern technology has resulted in the obsoletion of several old practices that we and our ancestors used to partake in. Due to this reason, some people believe that teaching the art of handwriting to children is an unproductive activity. I strongly disagree with this stance and this essay is going to explore this issue in detail. To begin with, Handwriting is a beautiful medium that one can use to express himself and communicate effectively. The writer is able to use this skill to put his emotions on the paper in a comparatively better way than typing an e-mail on the keyboard. Furthermore, the reader is able to view those emotions with a greater understanding due to the presence of a personal touch in a handwritten medium of communication. For instance, a letter written with the use of pen and paper, especially in this modern era will be viewed by the receiver as more valuable due to the fact that the sender took his time to write it with his own hands. Such a letter will also be able to convey the message and the purpose behind it in a useful manner. Moreover, the art of handwriting is an ancient practice and an invaluable part of our great culture and heritage. Losing such a fragment of our culture will feel like losing a significant part of our heart and is going to be disastorous for our human civilisation. Our forefathers taught this skill to us so that we can protect it and it is our responsibility now to extend this skill to our future generations. To conclude, the practice of handwriting is a precious mode of communication and our children should be made aware of its importance so that they can use it skillfully.