More and more plastic is polluting cities, countrysides and oceans. What are the problems caused by plastic waste? What measures should be taken to solve it?

The magnitude of plastic littering in urban, rural and oceans across the globe is rising at an exponential rate. It is harmful for both humans and wildlife. The government should enforce legal steps for plastic pollution reduction. In today's world, plastic is an essential means for storing, packaging transporting etc. Its widespread use has led to several environmental and health issues. Firstly, burning plastic waste causes severe respiratory hazards. In many developing countries where the proper disposable mechanism is not available, people often tend to burn plastic waste in order to get rid of it, due to which diseases such as asthma, flu, cold and skin allergies are prevalent for instance, Delhi city is ranked among the top in coal-pollution, due to which many young individuals aged between 10 to 24 are highly prone to lung cancer. Secondly, the wildlife is also affected by plastic littering which takes a devastating toll on their lives. People discard plastic items like bottles, candy wrappers and bags into rivers which are then consumed by birds, it chokes and ultimately they die due to suffocation, moreover, this litter when broken into smaller pieces are consumed by fish, and unfortunately, it destroys their digestive track, causing them to die painfully. Lastly, aside from affecting living things, it also happens to cause enormous damage to infrastructure as well. The sewerage lines get choked up, causing the sewerage to get clogged, thus creating an awful smell for people living around furthermore, the water lines get blocked which results in water supply to various parts of the city. There are several steps which the government can utilize to avoid these catastrophic effects of pollution. Firstly, spread awareness among people, and teach them how dangerous it can be for them as well as for their loved ones. Secondly, ban plastic bags for shopping, enact a law that prohibits shoppers from using plastic bags, they should only be allowed to use bio-degradable bags made out of paper and Finally, impose heavy fines on people who litter, this would make people feat and thus they will avoid littering and maintain a healthy environment. for instance, In Singapore, it's a crime to litter, people often carry waste in their pocket and waits for them to dispose when they find a proper place to dispose it. In conclusion, plastic pollution causes enormous challenges for both the environment and wildlife and governments should impose laws and spread awareness to address this ever-increasing problem.