In recent years many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers to do their shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern and fast-paced era, business owner have to come up with several essential solutions to sustain their business and one of the key parameters is the location. Recently we have been witnessing a reduction in small businesses such as local shops around us because of the increase in the popularity of large commercial shopping buildings. Although, these big centre's popular as the one-stop destination, I concur that this trend can be considered negative to society, especially for small business owners. On the positive side, perhaps the most important aspect which seems positive is that such shopping malls are focused on the whole family rather than a single shopper. Such facilities have multiple shops and recreational areas ranging from perfume shops, electronic shops, toy shops, and adventure activity areas which can fulfil the respective needs of all age groups. For example, the Eaton Centre is one of the many commercial complexes famous for their shops with massage chairs. It means that people can relax while their partners are busy shopping. Furthermore, these types of malls tend to have a wide range of products to choose from which is beneficial and time-saving. In contrast, the reduction of local businesses impacts our neighbourhood dearly. Local shop owners cater for the needs of the residents nearby with certain special requirements. For instance, in a close-knit community, people will probably know each other and their needs. Despite having less quantity or items, they tend to fulfil people's requirements which can hardly happen in big centres. Additionally, such complex owners have their sets of regulations and selection criteria for their preferred vendors. Such acts are egregious for small business owners to operate within these malls which costs them heavily. In conclusion, I believe that large shopping centres are reliable for everyone, however, they kill locally owned businesses and also, cannot complete customer satisfaction in terms of good experience. Therefore, I state that this development in recent years is negative.