Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern revolution, some people claim that keeping public libraries is a waste of a lot of money instead of using technology from the computer that can have all the functions of libraries and the online library can totally switch to the traditional library. Although traditional libraries are a good culture in our lives, modern computers become the best choice for “bookworms” to explore knowledge while still saving money. First of all, the most important thing in maintaining traditional libraries is investing money to preserve books. That is not easy work because a book needs many steps to avoid mold or termites. However, it takes a big loan to do, and that has to be preserved every time. For example, Ta Quang Buu Library - a famous library in Vietnam, they were made an economic report and they saw that the cost of preserving books, and documents is bigger than their income by 5-8%. Instead of this, If we operate the online library, documents will be saved in the database and only need the low cost to maintain the system. Besides that, a traditional library needs some labor to manage and transport books. For instance, a standard library will need 5-6 laborers to ensure something such as security, preservation, and accounting. With computers, we only need 1-2 people to operate. From that, maintaining a traditional library will waste money and labor and it is not necessary if we have the technology to make an online library. On the other hand, computers can completely respond to more features than traditional libraries. Moreover, the computer is always more convenient than a big library, we only need a computer or some technology to access books everywhere. In America, there is a website called Waka, If we want to read a book, we will only use a computer, smartphone, or laptop. This website has many features such as searching for information in documents and listening to audio which a traditional library never has. In conclusion, the traditional library in the present day is not necessary and is a waste of money, we only operate an online library to use all of the convenient functions.