Some people think it is better for one single legal system throughout the world. Others say countries should have their own laws. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some believe that all nations should impose a unified legal system, others contend that each country should have its own. In general, a single legal framework could provide benefits but also potentially cause disadvantages. Proponents of a single system of law presume that it would lessen illegal activities in society. In other words, a unified judicial system could ensure that individuals who commit crimes would be punished, regardless of age. For example, capital punishment would be imposed on all juvenile murderers because, in some countries, such as Korea, young offenders do not face any punishments for murder due to their age. Additionally, using an identical legal structure in every nation could promote economic growth. In simpler terms, it would shorten unnecessary procedures and paperwork related to international trade as well as cooperation. Therefore, if a legal framework could be used globally, it would help to control crime rates and develop the economy. However, if one law structure is promulgated worldwide, it could considerably erode a country’s national identity. Indeed, some countries have long-standing religious beliefs, making them outstanding among others. For instance, India is well-known for worshipping cows because Indians believe this animal embodies Mother Earth. Consequently, consuming cows is an illegal activity and blasphemy in India. Furthermore, one specific law for all countries might not be able to accommodate the diverse needs and values of different societies, potentially leading to tensions and conflicts. Hence, a single judicial system could adversely impact the culture and society of a country. In conclusion, a single-law system would help decrease crime rates and grow the economy, but it could also possibly eliminate a nation's unique customs and traditions. In my opinion, human beings should balance both approaches to maximize benefits.